The Getting Started page of this guide provides access to our "best bet" resources for finding sources for all eras of African American history. To view some highlighted resources for specific eras and focuses, use the navigation to check out the additional links!
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (GVRL)
eBook collection covering a wide range of subjects.
Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and topical content covering a variety of subject areas.
The New York Times Magazine's award-winning "1619 Project" issue reframed our understanding of American history by placing slavery and its continuing legacy at the center of our national narrative. This new book substantially expands on that work, weaving together eighteen essays that explore the legacy of slavery in present-day America with thirty-six poems and works of fiction that illuminate key moments of oppression, struggle, and resistance.
The black experience in America--starting from its origins in western Africa up to 1961--is examined in this seminal study from a prominent African American figure.
In the 20 years between 1895 and 1915, two key leaders--Booker T. Washington and W.E.B. Du Bois--shaped the struggle for African American rights.
An intersectional history of the shared struggle for African American and Latinx civil rights
A vibrant and empowering history that emphasizes the perspectives and stories of African American women to show how they are--and have always been--instrumental in shaping our country
Melvin L. Rogers and Jack Turner have brought together leading scholars to reflect on individual intellectuals from the past four centuries, developing their list with an expansive approach to political expression.
A chorus of extraordinary voices tells the epic story of the four-hundred-year journey of African Americans from 1619 to the present--edited by Ibram X. Kendi, author of How to Be an Antiracist, and Keisha N. Blain, author of Set the World on Fire.
This groundbreaking collection of thirty-eight biographical and autobiographical texts chronicles the lives of literary black Africans in British colonial America from 1643 to 1760 and offers new strategies for identifying and interpreting the presence of black Africans in this early period.
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.
Complete editions from hundreds of US newspapers providing primary source content covering eras such as the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, Information Age and more.
Biographies of influential people worldwide and from many time periods. Includes encyclopedia articles, magazine articles, and some multimedia.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.
Full-text periodicals on issues from 1923 through current. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.
Articles covering civilizations, historical studies, military history, periods & events, US history, and world history.
Contains digitized back issues of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
US and international past and current events (1940-present). Historical documents, statistics, images, timelines and landmark events.
