Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American History

Welcome

The Getting Started page of this guide provides access to our "best bet" resources for finding sources for all eras of African American history. To view some highlighted resources for specific eras and focuses, also check out the links to the left!

Featured Online Encyclopedia: Great for Overviews

Find Books

EBSCOhost eBooks

eBooks on EBSCOhost

eBook collection covering a wide range of subjects.

Gale Ebooks

Gale Ebooks

Collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries and topical content covering a variety of subject areas.

Featured e-Books

Before the Mayflower

The black experience in America--starting from its origins in western Africa up to 1961--is examined in this seminal study from a prominent African American figure.

The Battle for the Souls of Black Folk : W.E.B. Du Bois, Booker T. Washington, and the debate that shaped the course of civil rights

In the 20 years between 1895 and 1915, two key leaders--Booker T. Washington and W.E.B. Du Bois--shaped the struggle for African American rights.

An African American and Latinx History of the United States

An intersectional history of the shared struggle for African American and Latinx civil rights

A Black Women's History of the United States

A vibrant and empowering history that emphasizes the perspectives and stories of African American women to show how they are--and have always been--instrumental in shaping our country

African American Political Thought

Melvin L. Rogers and Jack Turner have brought together leading scholars to reflect on individual intellectuals from the past four centuries, developing their list with an expansive approach to political expression.

Articles Databases

EBSCOhost

Academic Search Complete

Articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers covering every area of academic study and news.

America's Historical Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers

Complete editions from hundreds of US newspapers providing primary source content covering eras such as the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, Information Age and more.

Gale Biography

Biography In Context

Biographies of influential people worldwide and from many time periods. Includes encyclopedia articles, magazine articles, and some multimedia.

Black Life in America

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher

Full-text periodicals on issues from 1923 through current. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.

ProQuest Central

History (ProQuest)

Articles covering civilizations, historical studies, military history, periods & events, US history, and world history.

JSTOR

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archive Collection

Contains digitized back issues of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

World News Digest

World News Digest

US and international past and current events (1940-present). Historical documents, statistics, images, timelines and landmark events.

Primary Sources

African American History in Two Minutes (YouTube series)

Streaming Video